640 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Jason_Himsey
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Greetings All. I am new to Airtable, but getting around pretty well. I have a Base with multiple tables. I am trying to automate Prospect tracking as much as possible. I have a situation where when I enter a Zip Code I want it to populate a District, Regions, POC Name, POC Email, and POC Phone. I was able to do that with Zips I coded with a linked table and associated lookups. However, I had to restructure the table and index by District rather than zip. I just cant figure out how to do a sort of VLOOKUP function based on Zips in Airtable because the zips are no longer the index on the table.

So, I figured I could use formulas instead. This is the full text of my formula:

“If the value from the “Zip Code” column in the “Prospects” table appears in the “Zips” column on the “List of Districts” table, then enter the value in the “District” column of the same “List of Districts” table.”

My issue is I cannot write the formula to save my life!! Is this possible? I have tried all kinds of operators, and linked items, but it just does not seem like I am doing it right.

4 Replies 4
Michelle_Flitcr
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hey Jason!

You can leverage this with Automations and would be much easier to set up! Here is how I would set it up:

• Automation Trigger: when a record matches conditions - and your conditions would be whenever your Zipcode field is not empty
  • Automation Action #1: Find Record in District table based on condition. Condition = where the Zip code matches a zip code in the District table
  • Automation Action #2: Updated Record from Trigger step and plug in the District Name from your Find Record Step into the Prospects table. (then you can leverage the lookup fields like you previously had it)