cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
paulsmartdev
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to Airtable, so please forgive me if this is a silly question. I'm a big Google Sheets user and trying out Airtable for the first time.

I have two tables:

• Content
    • Text
    • User
    • Date
    • ID

• Word List
    • Word
    • Club

When a new item is added to "Content", I would like to know if the field called 'Text' contains any word listed in my Word List (separate table).

Example:

"My favourite player is Cristiano Ronaldo" is added to Content.

I would like the "Club" value in my Content table to update with "Portugal" based on the mention of Ronaldo (which is in my "Word List" table).

From the reading I've done, I may need an Automation or a Formula - I'm unsure.

Thanks in advance

Paul

2 Replies 2

Hi,

I suppose your Content table also has Club field, and you want to fill it from Club field of Word List table according to word.
It can't be done by simple automation, because it can find all records in a given table containing value of you new entered record, but you have an opposite goal.
I would solve it using third table with 2 linked fields - to all records in Content and Word List, and then using rollups. But other solution I like more - add some fields to each table and run 2 automations:

first added field is link (it will be added to both tables), then lookup. in Word List add lookup of Text and formula field FIND(Word, CONCATENATE({Name_of_lookup_Field}).   Name by default will be smth like {Text (from Content)}. CONCATENATE used to convert lookup value to string (alternatively you can add empty string to it, FIND(Word, '"" & {Name_of_lookup_Field} ).  In Content table, add lookup of Club, but use 'Only include linked records....' when formula field = 1.