cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Fergus_Brown
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Thanks in advance for any help,
I am new to Airtable and to using formulas at all. Having trouble figuring this one out, but I’m sure it’s a simple solution.

Context:
I grow mushrooms, 3 different strains (K, B, L). Every day I prepare a new batch (8 bags, same strain). Every week I prepare 5 batches, 1 batch per day, mon–fri.
I need to create a unique record for each batch. Currently, I am using a concatenate formula to combine the strain code (K, B, or L) with the week number it was created. i.e. K.40

My Problem:
2 days of the week, I will repeat the same batch (strain type) I did earlier in the week, which leaves me with two instances of the same thing (K.40).
I need a formula or combination of formulas that can identify when the same batch code has appeared twice in one week, and then assign only the second instance of that occurrence with a (.2) i.e. K.40.2.

See screenshots below for reference:
Screen Shot 2020-10-05 at 17.25.41|700x451

Any help is appreciated,
Thanks a lot

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Justin_Barrett
18 - Pluto
18 - Pluto

Welcome to the community, @Fergus_Brown! :grinning_face_with_big_eyes: Finding repeated items across records is very tough to do with native Airtable features. It’s doable (and I even wrote up a description of how to do it), but setting it up to operate on a weekly basis would be even more challenging, and I don’t really recommend it.

What I would recommend is adding some other unique identifier to the code. Another of Airtable’s functions is WEEKDAY(), which returns a numeric value representing the day of the week; e.g. 0 for Sunday, 1 for Monday, etc. The following formula would add that to the end of your current code:

{Strain Code} & "." & {Week #} & "." & WEEKDAY({Creation Date})

That would create codes like these, using your Week 40 stats as an example:

K.40.1
B.40.2
L.40.3
K.40.4
B.40.5