968 2
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Dimitris_Alikio
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hello, I am new to Airtable (AT) and I am evaluating it so as to become (or not) my mainstream application. One of the features I desperately need (and I can’t find it) is the vertical summation of records. It is a pity that the AT provides a summation indicator at the bottom ribbon of each field but this cannot be accessed or used in any way. Am I missing something? Can this be done?

The second question refers to dynamic linking of fields. I want to link an entire field (with how many records it may have, i.e. linked dynamically) because there is no way I can add them manually one by one with the plus sign (they are just too many records and the number of records in the field can change any time). Is there a way around this?

8 Replies 8

It would probably be easier if you give an indication of what your Airtable base is intended to do. Structuring tables (and the links between them) correctly is the most important part of setting up a base.

My AT Base is an advanced CRM and Sales monitoring tool. The primary field is the customer name and the next fields (vertical columns) are populated by sales figures, opportunity data etc. One vertical column (field) is booked revenue and I want to sum all revenue figures in the booked revenue column to a single record and then link this record to another base for further calculations. I see the sum of all booked revenue at the bottom ribbon but this in not accessible and have no way of adding the numbers vertically as Airtable does not support that.

Hi @Dimitris_Alikiotis - how about this:

You have one table that records your opportunities:

Screenshot 2019-03-27 at 13.45.26.png

Then another table which does the roll-up of these opportunities:

Screenshot 2019-03-27 at 13.46.30.png

You can hide the Opportunities column in the Summary table as this will likely get a bit crowded over time.