1188 7
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Candice_Mooney
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hello, I am new here. I am also new to formulas.

Have managed to work out the formula to calculate the number of 12hr shifts between two date/time fields.

ROUNDUP(((DATETIME_DIFF({DepartureDate},{ArrivalDate},‘minutes’) /60 ) /12), 0)

My struggle is that shifts are from 06:00 to 18:00 day shift and 18:00 to 06:00 night shift. Therefore if a start time is any time between 06:00 and 18:00 I need it to 'snapback to the default start 06:00. And the same for if the start time is any time between 18:00 and 06:00, I need it to ‘snapback’ to the default start 18:00. Bearing in mind that these are date and time fields formatted YYYY-MM-DD HH:mm.

Can anybody help with the correct formula? I hope my explanation makes sense!

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions

Sigh! Thank you for your patience, I’ve updated the base again to handle that

Screenshot 2022-11-09 at 1.58.52 PM

See Solution in Thread

13 Replies 13

Hi Candice, any chance you could provide some example data and also indicate the desired number of 12 hour shifts for said example data?

It’d make trying to help you with this a lot easier!

Hi Adam

So basically the app allows employee to log their arrival date and time and departure date and time from a site. The client is not billed per hour but rather per 12 hour shift. The shifts are from 06:00-18:00 (day shift) and 18:00-06:00 (night shift). I therefore need to calculate the DATETIME _DIFF to be calculated from the beginning of the first shift to the end of the last shift.
So I can workout the datetime difference and convert to hours and then to 12hour shfts even round up to the nearest shift but first need to make the first shift calculate from the start of that particular day or night shift and the last shift end at the end of that particular day or night shift .