cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Santa_Cruz
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hello,

I’m Spanish and I can speak a little English. I’m new in Airtable, sorry if my question is too easy for you.
I have a shoop with several makers (“Créateur”) I would like to sum “Prix” for each “Créateur” in the field “Total pour créateur”
I’ve made a formule with SWITCH but its does’nt work {Prix} + SWITCH( { Créateur }, “Sophie”, SUM, “Mathilde”, SUM, “LMC”, SUM )
Can you explain how to find the solution ?

Thanks
Date____________.Créateur_________Prix_________Total pour créateur
5-3-21___________Sophie___________80_______________80
5-3-21 __________Mathilde __________60_______________60
5-3-21 __________ LMC ____________50_______________50
5-3-21__________Sophie ___________20 ______________ 100

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Justin_Barrett
18 - Pluto
18 - Pluto

Airtable isn’t like a spreadsheet where you can create a running total across several lines. (There are some workarounds to sorta-kinda make this work, but they’re frankly quite messy, and I don’t recommend them.) The key thing to remember is that Airtable is more like a database, and every record (row) is completely independent of every other record. When a formula runs in a formula field, field references used in the formula are only calculated at the record level, and there’s no way to directly access values from other records.

If a running total is important for your use case, I recommend searching the forum using those keywords, and you’ll likely find other threads where the workarounds that I mentioned above are discussed. From my experience, though, having a running total isn’t always as useful as it sounds, and the final total is the important value. If that will work for your use case, there’s a relatively easy way to set this up.