cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Timothy_Grocott
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hello,

I’m rather new to Airtable and need help with a Formula.

I have [worksheet 1] & [worksheet 2]

Worksheet 2 has two columns, {A} & {B}.

{A} has words or short phrases. {B} has a point value associated with the text in {A}.

In worksheet 1, I have a column that those words will populate in. I’d like to use the column right next to it to show the point value of text that appears in that column.

How can I make this happen. I’m thinking using a formula with IF. But I can’t figure out how to type it up.

Thanks!

9 Replies 9

Welcome to the community, Timothy! :grinning_face_with_big_eyes: To begin with, Airtable formulas don’t currently work across tables (what you called worksheets). They only work within a single table. To share data between tables requires at least one field that links records between the relevant tables, along with some combination of either rollup and/or lookup fields.

Before going further, I have a question about your desired setup. Say in [Table 1] you’ve got “apple” assigned a point value of 5, and “pear” a value of 10. In [Table 2] you enter “apple” into the entry field, and I’m assuming you want the value 5 to appear in the field next to it. But what happens if the entry field contains “apple pear”? Should the value in the adjacent field be 15, the sum of the point value for both words?