cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
warrior604
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hello! Here is what I am dealing with:

I have a table of clients and each has an acronym (KET for example) I also have a table of projects, with multiple projects linked to a client. I want to have a project code for each project. This is made up of the client acronym, year of the project, and a project number. The issue I am trying to solve is generating the project number automatically for each project.

For example:

KET-2021-01 is the first project from KET in 2021, KET-2021-02 would be the second

The 01, and 02 are unique with regard to the client, but not overall. We can have another client with 01, 02, etc.

I have not been successful in using auto-numbering as I want to be able to have repeat project numbers, i.e. TFN-2021-01 uses 01 again but for another client.

Can I do this via a formula? Would this require an automation? I am new to that, so help is appreciated.

If this has been answered already and you can point me in the right direction I would appreciate that too! New to the forum.

1 Reply 1

Hey @warrior604! Welcome in!

I apologize for the rushed reply, I don’t have much time!
But your post caught my attention and I wanted to give it a shot.

I created your two tables.
Clients & Projects.

Each client gets a unique code for their specific account.

Super simple.

Next is the projects table.

Here’s a sneak peek at the finished product.

As you can see, there are multiple codes with a -dddd-1 or -dddd-2 string, etc.

Here’s how I did it:

1. Using your linked field in the client table, create a rollup field that counts the number of linked projects.

Here are my field configuration settings:

1. In your projects table, create four fields.
    • A number field (Mine is just named Project Number).
    • A lookup field to the client code field (Mine = Code)
    • A rollup field (Mine = Client Project Count → There is a screenshot below)