cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Colin_Clausen
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hello,

I am new to Airtable, so please bear with me if i’m asking a question with an obvious answer.

I am collecting Questionaire information via a form… Many of the answers to the questions will exist as null-value fields (eg. a ‘Yes’/‘No’ question where the answer is ‘No’). I do not care about ‘No’ answers… They are irrelevant once the respondent answers ‘No’

I want to devise a way to export only the non-empty data (the ‘Yes’ answers). I see that in the Kanban view when I ‘Customize Cards’ and ‘Show All’, what shows on the Kanban card is only the non-empty data… this is great! However, when I try to export, i cannot generate a printable view that only shows me the non-empty information… this leads to a lot of noise.

Am I missing something? Is there an easy way to accomplish what i’m looking to do? any advice would be greatly appreciated

1 Reply 1

The following, albeit a little clunky, will probably get you what you need. There may be easier ways to do this, depending on your precise situation and needs; if I’m too far off the mark, let me know a bit more about your base, and I’ll try again.

This method takes advantage of the way Airtable treats text with end-of-line characters when entered or pasted into long text fields. The procedure I give here is a manual one – that is, it requires you to copy data from one column in your base and paste it into another one by hand, which is fine for occasional reporting. However, it can be automated through Zapier, and later on I’ll point you to a document that shows how.