cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
MONKiAIR
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hello Everyone,

I’m a teacher & I am tagging teaching materials with a “Multiple Select Field” type column.
I forgot to add a tag and I would need to add it to many Tag cells. Is there a way to add one element (tag entry) to many cells without replacing the various other elements (tags) already existing?

Any help is much appreciated!

9 Replies 9

Here’s what first occurred to me; there may be ways to streamline the process, but this is reasonably quick.

1. Duplicate the multiselect field, copying cell data. (Strictly speaking, this is an optional step, as you can convert the original field in place. Me, I like the security of working on a copy of the data.)

2. Convert the duplicate column to be of the single line text type. This will result in each cell now containing a concatenated list of tags, separated by commas.

3. Create a new column of checkbox type. Check the box for each record needing the new tag.

4. Create a new column for formula type. Select the formula to
    {original tag string} & IF({needs new tag},",[NewTag]","")

5. Duplicate the formula column you just created, copying cell data. (Again, an optional step, as you can convert the column in place.)

6. Convert the duplicated formula column to the multiselect type. This will return each tag string to the corresponding grouping of multiselect tags.

7. Once you’re happy with the results, delete the original and all intermediate columns, leaving only the updated multiple select field.

One caveat: This will likely break if any of the original tags contains an embedded comma. If that’s the case, as Step 0 edit the field configuration and change the offending tag.