2933 6
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Ruben_Rubens
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi I’m new to databases let alone working out the powerful features of Formulas and Lookups and stuff

I need to sort my contacts into municipalities.
Each Contact has a Postcode
Each Municipality has multiple postcodes.

I need to be able to print out lists of contacts in multiple different municipalities
(so simply using filters isn’t ideal)

Should I write a very long nested IF formula eg.
IF({Postal Code}=ARRAY(3000,3001,3002), “Melbourne”,IF ({Postal Code}=ARRAY(2000,2001,2002), “Sydney”, “Somewhere Else”))

& how would I write this so that it actually works?!

Or is there a better way to do this with linked records?

Thanks heaps for your advice
Ruben
oldertenants.org.au

6 Replies 6

If I understand your question correctly, I think this is probably best done with linked records.

Here’s an example base that emulates your use case:

0d41b7239ab01c5f5e8f76a7f7d714f76ba86a36.png

Linked Records Example - Airtable

Explore the "Linked Records Example" base on Airtable.

The first table holds your contacts.
The second table holds your zip codes.
The third table holds your municipalities.

Contacts have a single postcode (link to records [postcodes] - single record only):

• Create a Link to another record field in the Contacts table, linked to the Postcodes table, and disallow linking to multiple records

Postcodes have a single municipality (link to records [municipalities] - single record only):

• Create a Link to another record field in the Postcodes table, linked to the Municipalities table, and disallow linking to multiple records

Contacts now have a single municipality (lookup the [municipality] linked to the Contact’s [postcode]):

• Create a Lookup field in the Contacts table that looks at the Postcode field, and finds the Municipality the post code belongs to