867 1
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
J_W
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

I could use some help with a problem that’s harder for me than it should be, but I’m new to Airtable.
First table is a list of unique books. There is also a multi-select column of genres that apply to each of the books.
Second table is a unique list of students. Each student has a multi-select column of interests that are the same items as the genres of the books.
My goal is to create a view link that I can send to the student that matches all the available books with any of the ‘interests’ that he/she has selected. Ideally, the student would be able to read other information about the books that I have in that book table.
Thank you for your ideas.

6 Replies 6

Hi @J_W - here’s how I would approach this problem:

• Have 3 tables - Books, Genres and Students. (The genre’s table replaces your genre multi select).

Screenshot 2019-08-02 at 18.06.01.png

Screenshot 2019-08-02 at 18.06.06.png

Screenshot 2019-08-02 at 18.06.14.png

A book has one or more genres (a link field) and a student is interested in one or more genres (also a link field). Then, on the student table, you can do a lookup on the genres field to display the books associated with the student’s genres. You can then click on a book in the lookup field to show additional information about the book:

Screenshot 2019-08-02 at 18.06.21.png

Have a look at my example base here:

JB

Thank you, that’s very helpful. I see how they work together too.

Now, the follow-up:
My goal is to share the matches with each student. I want to share the book name(s) and also some other information in the Books table, say it’s your book description field, and a publisher field, and a price field.
Does that overly complicate things?
And would it just be easier to manually use the student’s “genres interested in” to do a filtered search and send those results manually to the student?
Thank you.