cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Tamara_Cook
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hello!

I just joined my company and I am entirely new to Airtable. I’m a project manager and I’m looking to use dependencies in my grid to automatically update my project schedule that I’ve created. For example, I’d like to make task B dependent on the conclusion of task A (finish-to-start relationship) AND, if I update the end date of Task A, the start date of task B should update based on the new end date of task A, as well as any other tasks on my schedule that are dependent on B and so on. I’ve figured out how to create dependencies but it doesn’t auto-update any of my dependent tasks when I update dates which is VERY manual and time consuming as a project manager. I’ve also noticed that Airtable only accommodates finish-to-start relationships and I often time need start-to-start relationships. Does anyone know if this functionality exists or if there are work-arounds?

I’m coming from a company that used Smartsheet for project management and I’m really struggling to equate the functionalities :frowning:

Thank you for your help in advance!

3 Replies 3

Hi Tamara, to do what you’re looking for I think you’d need to use a lookup field to pull the predecessor task’s end date to your current task, and also need a field for you to set up the type of relationship the link is (finish-to-start or start-to-start)

From there, you’d be able to create a formula field that would help you calculate these dates as required

If you foresee a single task being linked to multiple other tasks, each with a different type of relationship, you’d need to create a junction table I’m afraid, but it’s still doable

Gordonhoj
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast