1010 2
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Elaine_Chan
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi, I am really new to Airtable. I wanted some help in thinking about setting up a base. If I have different tasks that need to be done for any movement of employees within a company, how should I set the base up? For example we would have different tasks for when a person is hired into the company vs departing the company versus transferring between departments. So I can create a table with a column for Action (Hire, Departure and Transfer) so I can differentiate between the tasks needed for each. However would I then copy the tasks to new records every time someone is hired so I can track who is assigned to complete the tasks and when a task is complete with a completion column?

So if I hired Jane Doe and John Doe, would I copy the steps for an employee hire twice into the same table and then assign the tasks out to someone to do and also mark as complete?

So I guess if I want a repeatable task list for every occurrence, how would I do that in Airtable. Thanks!

2 Replies 2

There may be some ways to use an integration service like Zapier or Integromat to automate some of the new task creation, but I’m not familiar enough with either of those systems to know for sure. In lieu of that, copying and pasting is actually pretty quick.

In my test, I began with an [Employees] table (which I won’t detail), then a [Master Task List] table, which I set up to group by the {Task Category} field. The {Name} field is a formula that concatenates the category and description for easy reference elsewhere:

Screen Shot 2019-05-21 at 8.09.27 PM.png

I then made a [Tasks] table:

Screen Shot 2019-05-21 at 8.12.24 PM.png