Help

A private success story - an app for counting the results of a dance competition

2031 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Jyrki_Keisala
6 - Interface Innovator
6 - Interface Innovator

I am a part-time social dance teacher and also work as an IT support person in two private companies working in dance teaching business. Some months ago I got a task from my boss - to build an application for scoring, to be used in a dance competition.

The competition in question is a peculiar one: you see, in a normal dance competition, there are fixed couples dancing, and nominated judges give the scores. All existing scoring apps are build around this hypothesis.

Ours was different however: it was based on peer review, ie. every leader danced with every follower and the dancers gave scores for each other. No existing application bends to this peculiar case, so I needed to build one from scratch.

I also needed to make my application an online one, so at first I thought about SQLite + PHP. Then I ran into Airtable and thought, well this might actually have great potential. And it did!

It didn’t take long to have the basic setup, and I must say the Views for a table helped me immensely, since they give me so many different useful views to my data. Very soon I had the most important views ready:

• one view for the persons taking in the registrations for the competition: competition number, name, town, email, role (Leader/Follower), Age Group
  • one view for me, to do the division of the competitors into different groups for the qualification rounds
  • one view for me to show the scoring as it progresses, etc.

The best part of the Views really is that they can give totally different insights into the same data, suitable for the people with different roles - as in my example, head of the competition, registration assistants, scoring personnel.