cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Sarah_Goodwin
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Greetings-

I’m relatively new to Airtable so I may not use the right jargon!

I have records of many Contacts with typical fields like First Name, Last Name, Email, Phone. Then I made a separate Table for City and another separate Table for States. So in the Records it says City +Link to a Record from Cities and State +Link to a Record from States.

Then I have different Tables with different configurations of Contacts where I want to see all this information including their City/State. Sometimes the same person will be on multiple Tables. How do I get all their contact info that I’d like to see to automatically populate in the different columns?? Right now - even if my City and State columns are set up on the Table and linked back to their original Tables it wants to me to fill the information back in every time.

How do I better navigate this?
Thank you!

6 Replies 6
AlliAlosa
10 - Mercury
10 - Mercury

The most straight forward way to do this is to use Lookup fields. Point the field to the table holding your Contacts and then select the field that you want to show up on your table.

If you want the city and state to show up in the same column, add a field to your Contacts table with a formula like…

{City} & ", " & {State}

Then point the lookup field to that new field.

Hope this helps!

Ahh!

This helps so much. Thank you!

One other question: if I want the contacts name to be in the first column of my table I can’t do that, right? Because you can never link Column A for some reason? And I can’t hide that column? So I would just start everything to the right one column?

Excellent, you’re welcome! And yes, you’re correct - you can’t link or hide the primary field. However, you can make it into a formula. You could use a formula like…

{Field Linked to Contact} & " Table Description"