913 3
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Dan_Emmerie
6 - Interface Innovator
6 - Interface Innovator

Thank you ahead. This is probably an easy one, but I could use the help since I’m not good at formulas or programming. Basically I am getting data from an API that is giving me IDs that need to be matched with Values. I got that happening but where the Values are Blank, I get an error, possibly because it’s trying to format it into a date. The errors are keeping it not working with some reports, so need them to result in blank() when erroring. Here’s my formula:

DATETIME_PARSE((IF({Custom field items 1 id custom field}=“5a9866ffd6afbd6de1c0d07b”,{Custom field items 1 value date})&IF({Custom field items 2 id custom field}=“5a9866ffd6afbd6de1c0d07b”,{Custom field items 2 value date})&IF({Custom field items 3 id custom field}=“5a9866ffd6afbd6de1c0d07b”,{Custom field items 3 value date})&IF({Custom field items 4 id custom field}=“5a9866ffd6afbd6de1c0d07b”,{Custom field items 4 value date})&IF({Custom field items 5 id custom field}=“5a9866ffd6afbd6de1c0d07b”,{Custom field items 5 value date})&IF({Custom field items 6 id custom field}=“5a9866ffd6afbd6de1c0d07b”,{Custom field items 6 value date})))

3 Replies 3
Dan_Emmerie
6 - Interface Innovator
6 - Interface Innovator

I was thinking it could be solved by doing if FIELD equals ID, return VALUE, else return blank. but when i put a ,BLANK() it still shows an error. Perhaps because the value is a date?

Hey @Dan_Emmerie

Huh… Something catches my immediate attention about your formula.

If any of those six fields can return the same value, hence the reason you need to check all of them, then you might want to reconsider how your table/base is designed since you’re subjecting yourself to some rather harsh scenarios when you need to deal with the data itself.

This formula of having to check every field is a great example.