2477 1
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Jason_Cavallo
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hi, I’m just getting started here and finding my way around. I understand Airtable is not a spreadsheet. Got that. Is there a way to use it to establish Net Income Detail of a business and then add in the actuals as time goes on so that you are able to track, project, etc.? Or am I thinking of the use wrong? I can’t figure out how to accomplish something like that, yet I feel like it’s possible. I’m just getting launch the business so now is perfect time for me to get my systems set up correctly. Appreciate any insights. Thanks!

1 Reply 1

Based on the assumption that capturing good data is 4/5 of the solution, you could start by building a simple solution to, say, track per-project costs. (Obviously, how you use Airtable will depend on what type of business you manage; I’m just tossing out some examples.) You would start by defining a [Projects] table where each record contains data about the project as a whole. Each data record would also contain a linked-record field pointing at a [Costs] table and, possibly, a [Revenue] table. Each record in those tables would track a single transaction: an outgoing expenditure or incoming payment related to the project. (Depending on how granular you wish to be at this point, you mighty consider having each transaction record link to one or more line item records; that way a construction-related cost record might contain a dozen or more line item entries corresponding to hardware, tools, lumber, and the like purchased for the project.)