542 1
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Savannah_Olsen
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

I am very new to Airtable and struggling with one piece of the puzzle. I’ve read a lot of posts and articles but can’t seem to get this relatively simple thing working. I’m sure I’m missing something obvious.

I am trying to use Airtable to house information for my meal planning and shopping. I have three tables.
1-Dishes/Recipes (Where all of my recipes are stored, tagged by meal and such).
2-Ingredients (A list of pretty much every possible ingredient).
3-Menu (A menu of what I am eating for which meal on which day).

All of these are working as I want. When I add a new dish, I can add an ingredient from the list. The menu pulls information such as which meal of the day a dish belongs to when I add an item. All great.

The struggle is that I want one more table for a grocery list. I can manually type each ingredient onto the list, but I was hoping for more automation than that.

I want it so that the Grocery List table adds a record when a record is added to the menu, pulls the ingredients for that dish, and pulls the ingredient category for each ingredient. Automation isn’t giving me what I need. Any ideas?

Each table shown above.

As you can see in this final screenshot, if I click a record from the menu, it shows me the dish and all of the information I need: Each ingredient and those ingredients’ respective categories. I just need that data to populate in a new table.

1 Reply 1
Noor
6 - Interface Innovator
6 - Interface Innovator

Hi @Savannah_Olsen
Yes you can solve this problem with automation script.
Where the condition will be as you said create new record in “Menu” table and then you run a automation to create new record on your “Grocery List” table.