957 4
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Fabian
5 - Automation Enthusiast

I have an Airtable with sports results. Any athlete can submit results for their performances. An athlete can submit results for the same workout.

Workout | Athlete | Result

A | Peter | 13:22
B | Peter | 4:32
A | Mary | 13:12
A | Peter | 11:53

I want to embed rankings for each workout on my website.

BUT…

For each athlete I only want their best result to be included in the rankings.

So the ranking for workout A should look like this:

1. Peter 11:53
  2. Mary 13:12

and NOT

1. Peter 11:53
  2. Mary 13:12
  3. Peter 13:22

Do I need to create a new table for this? How do I only put highscores in that table? How do I get the ranking position 1, 2, 3 etc. into that table…

I am pretty new to Airtable and have no idea what to search for…

4 Replies 4
Nick_Dennis
7 - App Architect
7 - App Architect

Hi @Fabian!

If I’m understanding correctly, this can be done with 2 tables, let’s call them ‘Athletes’ and ‘Scores’. You will need to create a Linked field and a Rollup field on your ‘Athletes’ table.

The end result for the Athletes table is something like this:
time-scores

First you would create a linked field that is a Link to ‘Scores’, and allows for linking to multiple records. It sounds like you have this already.

Then create a Rollup field to display each athlete’s best time. For field, select the one that is linked to Scores, and Time (or whatever this field is called on Scores) as the field you’d like to rollup. Then for the aggregation formula, use: MIN(values)

rollup

On the formatting tab of the rollup field, you can select ‘Duration’ as the format, and choose the 2nd option - h:mm:ss for the duration format.

Then you would want to sort your view by ‘Best Time’ or whatever you’ve named this new Field

sort-times