Help

What's the best way to think about this? [complex product/specs/sourcing/ordering issues]

897 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Ginger_Allen
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hi, all! I’m setting up my bases, and I think I might be trying to do too much in a single base. Yet all the information is related (many-to-many, for sure). Can you help me figure out if I’m asking too much from a single base?

I am a jeweler. I do custom/bespoke jewelry, and I have a signature collection that I sell both wholesale and retail. The work is handmade by me and my studio assistants here in my studio. I’m trying to set up our product catalog, order tracking, materials sourcing, and technical specs for each design. Pieces are made to order for larger wholesale orders, and we also maintain a small amount of inventory for ecommerce sales and retail shows we travel to.

I started with the Product Catalog & Orders template.

(As a side note, I don’t think the way orders are handled works very well in that template because of the way they are entered. Our orders can contain hundreds of items, and I need to be able to import a CSV from our ecommerce system. But, that’s a secondary issue. I’m trying to get the catalog, specs and sourcing set up first.)

Here’s an overview of the data:
16 Collections.
Each collection includes up to 30 pieces, some more than others.
Pieces can have variants for size, style, metal selection, gemstone selection, etc.

Gemstone varieties include type, size, cut, shape. Vendors vary, meaning I have two or three sources for 4 mm blue chalcedony in a round rose cut, for instance.

Making pieces require metal materials on hand in strip, sheet, wire, tubing, findings, all in varieties of gauges, dimensions, etc. For metals, I have several vendors as well, although I tend to use certain vendors for certain things, and there’s not a lot of shifting sources when it comes to metals.