4078 11
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
David_Laufer
6 - Interface Innovator
6 - Interface Innovator

I am new to Airtable and diving into the deep end of the pool—setting up a base to manage the collection and exhibitions for a museum.

I am managing many types of assets- physical artifacts, photos, facsimiles of historical magazine covers, books, people/biographies, events, Key dates/events, inventions, a glossary, a workflow for each exhibit. So it is part digital asset management system, and part project management. Is it better to make one giant table with lots of columns and use keywords to sort them? or create multiple tables? I watched the Airtable tutorials but didn’t get a good answer on this issue.

In terms of output, I need to be able to create timelines, add new artifacts as they come in, add new photos to existing entries, track sources, track copyright information.

Any ideas on how best to structure this would be appreciated! Are there any white papers or background reading, best practices?

11 Replies 11

So it sounds to me like you have, potentially, a lot of different “types” of records, but all of which have a couple things in common, as assets – namely a “Date” component of some sort, and the need to plug in to a Project.

I would definitely suggest having a distinct “Exhibits” table, and some way to join your assets to an Exhibit.

Table 1 – “Exhibits”

• each record represents a single exhibit with all its relevant static info; “Description”, “Start Date”, “End Date”
  • the critical field will be a link to another table, perhaps called “Pieces”; this link field will accept more than 1 linked record (as you want to add many assets to an exhibit)

Table 2 – “Pieces” (or whatever more appropriate name you would use)

• each record represents an instance of the use of a single piece/asset in an exhibit