1011 5
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Karen_Williams
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

I am new to Airtable.  I have a base of speaking engagements.  I want to send an automated reminder to my boss when the engagement is 5, 3, and 1 day away.  I am able to get it to work the first time but I can't get it to know that the time is getting closer.   From what I read, DATETIME_DIFF used with NOW() doesn't update daily.  How to get this to work?

5 Replies 5

Hi @Karen_Williams ,
The formula you can use to solve your problem is indeed that one. It will be DATETIME_DIFF({Date_Of_Event}, TODAY(), 'days'), where it calculates the difference in days between the "event" day and today. Then, based on the number of days that it outputs, you can create three automations that trigger when the record matches a specific condition - i.e. when the formulas is 5, 3 or 1.

A more complex automation that combines everything in one without the need of occupying three automations' worth of space, would use nested IFs in the formula so that the field is only filled in when the are 5, 3 or 1 days missing - if done this way, you would only need one automation that gets triggered when the field is "not empty" and then has conditions inside it checking the number of days before of the event date and sending the corresponding email

Hope this helps!

Calendly: https://alessiomonino.com/contact
Email: alessio.monino@gmail.com

Create a field called "Days Until Engagement" (or whatever) that calculates the number of days between today and the engagement: DATETIME_DIFF({engagement date}, TODAY(), 'days').

If you want to get fancy, you can use

IF(DATETIME_DIFF({engagement date}, TODAY(), 'days')>0, DATETIME_DIFF({engagement date}, TODAY(), 'days'))

^^ will clear the cell if the Engagement Date has passed