Help

Please help: How can I send automated birthday emails to the members of my organisation?

Topic Labels: Automations
1259 3
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
BAP
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hello:)

I am very new to Airtable and am having a hard time figuring this out on my own.
I have a data base on Airtable where I have over 200 members of the organisation I work in with their emails and dates of birth. Now I want to create an automation, that is triggered on the members birthdays, sending them a ‘Happy Birthday’ Email without me having to look after it regularly. Does anybody know how this works and could maybe help me out? Best in a very easy way to understand because as said above - I am very new to all of this… :slightly_smiling_face:
Thank you in advance.

Franzi

3 Replies 3
Joseph_Abraham

There are many different ways to achieve this, so I’m sure you’ll get different answers. Here is how I would accomplish this using Airtable’s automations.

First, we need to get the person’s birthday in the current year from their DOB. For example, if their DOB is 9/6/1974, we need a date of 9/6/2021 to see if their birthday is today. Create a new column ( I called mine Birthday (Current Year)) and use this formula:

DATETIME_PARSE(MONTH(DOB)&"/"&DAY(DOB)&"/"&YEAR(TODAY()), 'MM/DD/YYYY')

Replace “DOB” with whatever your dates of birth column is named. This formula is creating a new date from the month of the date of birth, the day of their date of birth, and the current year. It’s a good idea to create a couple test records in your table that have a birthday of today, so you can see how this works before turning on the automation.

Now we can set up an automation. Create a new automation and select “When record matches conditions” as the trigger. Select the table where your records are and create a new condition that reads “When Birthday (Current Year) is today”. Make sure you click run test after this step.