cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Tim_Wilson
7 - App Architect
7 - App Architect

Hey everyone,

I’m an archery coach, and I’ve been using Airtable for a few years to manage information about the people who participate in our archery club and their achievements. I’m trying to figure out the best way to track the relationships among the archery students and their parents or guardians. Note: it’s possible for someone who is a parent of one of the archery students to be a student in our program themselves. This is complicating the design.

So let’s consider two tables from my base: People and Sessions.

┌─────────────────┐       ┌──────────────────┐
     │People           │       │Sessions          │
     ├─────────────────┤       ├──────────────────┤
    ╱│Name             │╲     ╱│Session Name      │
┌────│Sessions         │───────│Start Date        │
│   ╲│Related People   │╱     ╲│End Date          │
│    │is_current       │       │Participants      │
│    └─────────────────┘       └──────────────────┘
│            ╲│╱                                   
│             │                                    
└─────────────┘                                    

The People table holds information about everyone: participants, parents/guardians, etc. For a participant, the Related_People field holds one or more references to other people in the People table. For a parent or guardian, that field has references to one or more of their children who are participants. Again, a parent could also be a participant in this scenario.

The is_current field is a formula field that holds a 1 or 0 based on whether that participants is enrolled in the current session. (Side note: I like to use field names that look like variables in computer programs for fields that are intended function more or less like variables.)