Help

Re: Film Credits Crew Database help please!

1321 1
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Shannon_Bradley
7 - App Architect
7 - App Architect

Hello amazing users!

I have been working with AirTable Pro for several months now and I am constantly thrilled with what it can do. However there is something I simply cannot wrap my head around.

I have a list of Crew members for my show. Each crew member may fill a different specific role on a specific shooting date. They also may have other things that they do in the production that gain them a film credit.

Here is my problem:

• I want the first table that has one record per Crew Member with all their contact info etc
  • I want the second table that allows to select a crew member at one of the “jobs” they are qualified for for a specific date
  • I want a third that lists a record for every credit that needs to appear, in a specific order

Example:

Crew member Artsy McAwesomesauce is the Art Director. He is also a props master, droid builder, droid handler and concept artist.

On the first table I only want to see Artsy once (1 record)

One the second table I want to select him as Art Director on Jan 1st, Props Master on Feb 1st and Droid Handler on March 1st (3 records in different filtered views per shoot day)

On the third table I need to see all of his credits on separate lines, and in the specific order of Art Director, Concept Artist, Droid Builder, Droid Handler, Props Master (5 records)

Currently I have the main table with 5 lines for this crew member, each as the separate job. I then select whichever line is appropriate to work on set for specific dates (in filtered views). For the credits I have to manually review the whole database and create the list in a separate Google sheet.

I’m sure there MUST be a way to do this, but I think I have now stared at this for too long and I can’t make my brain work anymore lol

Any suggestions would be greatly welcomed!

6 Replies 6