1138 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Roman_Repic
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hello Airtable community. Newbie here. I recently come across the Airtable app on android and I am hooked.
I am a beekeeper and I want to track progress of my bees using Airtable. I have multiple bee houses with multiple beehives in them. I think that Airtable will be great for that but it has some quirks that I hope I will be able to solve.
I will have multiple bases. One for each beehouse. And there will be approximately 60 tables in each base. One table per hive. Because I can’t share views between tables I will create a view in the first table and then I will duplicate this table 59 times.

I have a few quirks to solve. The biggest is. Is it possible to have filters for bases? For instance. If one or more hives have some problems to solve it will be easy to set the filter to the whole base instead of search for each problem in the table individually.

It will be awesome if I can export the whole base at once. Can it be done?

Have anyone had problems with my issues?

11 Replies 11
Geoff_Bernstein
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast

What is the data you want for each beehouse? Having one table for each beehouse seems excessive. Depending on the data you are trying to keep, you might be able to have each beehouse as a record.

May I gently suggest that you look at some of the base templates to get a better feel for how database design works? It sounds like you are used to having multiple spreadsheets with multiple tabs per spreadsheet. But Airtable is a database, and it sometimes it is appropriate to structure data a bit differently. In general, relational database design tries to minimize duplicating information.

You may find that you will have one table listing beehouses, and another table for hives. Then you would have a one-to-many relationship between the beehouses and the beehives.