Help

Multiple Selections of an Identical Linked Record - Help!

Topic Labels: Base design
Solved
Jump to Solution
1230 5
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Michael_Reed
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi everyone, I’m new to Airtable. I’m hoping I’m missing something really obvious here!

When linking to a record in another table, AT gives you the option select multiple records. However, it doesn’t let you chose the same record twice. Why is this, and is there any easy way around it?

For context, I’m trying to set up a base for a non-profit diaper bank. Diapers come in about 8 sizes. Sometimes, families have two or more children who wear the identical size of diaper (e.g. twins). Currently, the base will let me use a single field [“Diaper Bundles”] to indicate that a family received size 1 diapers and size 5 diapers, for example. But if I want to indicate that they received multiple qualities of size 1 diapers, as well as size 5 diapers, things get complicated in a hurry!

Any suggestions here? I’d love some advice!

Screenshot (4)

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Celeste_Bancos
7 - App Architect
7 - App Architect

A number of different solutions are coming to mind:

1. You could create more diaper bundle records that say “Size 1 diapers (2 pack)”, “Size 2 diapers (2 pack)”, etc. Maybe add a quantity field to the diaper bundle table.

2. You can duplicate your “Size 1 Diaper” record and just have several identical copies of it. If you have three records on your diaper table, you can link all three to the same family on your appointments tab. Airtable will keep track of them even if they are all named the same thing.