1897 1
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Sam_Stamport
6 - Interface Innovator
6 - Interface Innovator

I’m a newbie so this may be a dumb question.

I’m building a To Do list. I’d like the primary field to be a Single Select for category (priority to do, shopping list, normal to do, etc.). Since Single Select is not available for the primary field I thought of using a formula that would simple be the name of my category field. This works, but duplicates data in the category field leading to confusion. I thought about hiding the primary field, but this also is not allowed. I then thought of auto number, but this too is not allowed. I tried the function record id. It works, but what it returns is confusing and meaningless to the casual user.

Can someone suggest a better way?

Thanks

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
ScottWorld
18 - Pluto
18 - Pluto

Autonumber is allowed. So is a formula, so you can make a formula which concatenates any of the other fields that you would like to see there.

See Solution in Thread

9 Replies 9
ScottWorld
18 - Pluto
18 - Pluto

Autonumber is allowed. So is a formula, so you can make a formula which concatenates any of the other fields that you would like to see there.

You’ve done a great job of exploring the capabilities of Airtable.

I recommend you go with a variation of this option. Have the formula for the primary field include both the category field and the name of the list item. Then get used to ignoring the primary field value when doing data entry. :upside_down_face:

{category} & " " & {item name}

I’m not sure I like the idea of getting

I’d like to use the Kanban view for viewing as well as data entry. As near as I can tell, the primary field cannot be hidden or moved in grid view. Likewise, in Kanban view it appears that I cannot hide the primary field or move it.

Is there some kind of clever workaround that will hide or at least let me move the primary field in Kanban view?