Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
stephanie_crock
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Newbie here.
I have two tables I am trying to link…

table #1. which has basic plant info…name, details, photo. this is the master list of all the plants I’m interested in growing.

table #2. these are all the plants that I have seeds for.

I made the second table and was able to grab the plant name from table #1, but now I’d love to include a photo of this plant from from table #1. I tried making a new field on table #2 with the same name, and nothing happened.

question: do I have to manually link all the photos for every plant on table number 2?

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
WilliamPorter
9 - Sun
9 - Sun

One addendum to my earlier responses. If you set up the lookup column for the pictures, then the answer to your question quoted above is NO: You won’t have to manually link individual photos. See the screenshot of my example. When I created the record for Lulu and linked her to the BREEDS records for Cairn Terrier and Border Terrier, the photos for those two breed records were automatically displayed in Lulu’s row of the MY DOGS table.

William

See Solution in Thread

4 Replies 4

Welcome to the Airtable community, Stephanie.

So you have a parent table (the generic PLANTS table) and a child table (MY SEEDS, the plants for which you have seeds). To show a pic of the plant from the parent table (PLANTS), after defining the link to related record and linking a seed to a plant, you would use a second column defined as a “lookup” column.

To link MY SEEDS to PLANTS, start in MY SEEDS (usually good to start in the child table), create a new column and select type “Link to another record.” Select PLANTS, and you’re done.

Now to get the picture, in MY SEEDS, create another column, select type Lookup, and configure the lookup to pull a value from the PLANTS table, Picture column.