cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Arthur_Lanter
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi dear community,

I am a developer, quite experienced at using Airtable, and love best practices.
I never really had a need to post a message as the documentation and this forum are already full of precious infos. Thanks you all for that, especially members like @Bill.French - are you french by the way? :winking_face:

My problem concerns big structures for bases. It is not really a matter of slow performances, but rather a matter of human understanding and keeping a clean database.

I just got on a new project as a Product Manager, the main base contains 32 tables and some tables have almost 200 fields.

Obviously everything has been built through small fixes here and there, and there is no naming convention. I have a lot to learn about that and I am now looking into topics like this : database - Relational table naming convention - Stack Overflow

Problem I have :

• Do these naming conventions fit an airtable usage ? Most of the people who are going to use my base are not developers. I want to have a clear convention for Table/Views/Fields naming
  • Airtable differs from a traditional database in various ways, it may not be the best approach to apply traditional standards
  • Is there some kind of documentation/article I can relate on concerning this topic?

I found these (unanswered) articles :

• community.airtable : what-naming-convention-do-you-use/26721
  • community.airtable : enforced-naming-conventions-for-tables-and-fields/21772
  • community.airtable : views-management/15876

But also found this really helpful article :

Thanks @Eric_Goldman

Do you guys have anything to help with that?
Does the Airtable team have clear standards I should read? Even a book I should keep on my nightstand ahah?