1197 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Ryan_Mizak
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

I am trying to create a script in Airtable to give me the sum of a row in a table, but I am new to JavaScript. Any help would be most appreciated, thank you

9 Replies 9

Hi @Ryan_Mizak,
I think you are asking for a formula to put in a formula type field.

In that case, the formulas are fairly simlpe.

If you have two number type fields, Number 1 and Number 2. Then add a formula type field and place this in it:

SUM({Number 1},{Number 2})

Thanks. i am actually trying to create a script that sends out an email showing the contents of a column and that also create a sum of all the items in one column. I have a column named Commitment$ and I would need a sum of all the $

A very basic script that gets the total of an entire column from a Table would be something like this:

let table = base.getTable("Name of Table")
let field = table.getField("Commitment$")

let query = await table.selectRecordsAsync({fields: [field]})
let records = query.records

let totalSum = records.reduce(getTotalSum, 0)

function getTotalSum(total, x) {
    return total + Number(x.getCellValue(field))
}

If this is an automation script, you probably want to output the sum variable into another step in your automation. You’d do that by adding this to the end:

output.set('totalSum', totalSum )

Hi @Ryan_Mizak,
I think I commented this on another thread you made.

To Sum an array

var array = [1, 2, 3, 4, 5];

// Getting sum of numbers
var sum = array.reduce(function(a, b){
    return a + b;
}, 0);

console.log(sum); // Prints: 15

If you want a script that sums the numbers in a column for only the results of a “find records” action (versus the entire table), my Automation Helpers bundle includes such a script.