cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
tbradley22
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi folks,

This is my first post on the forum as I'm just getting started with AirTable. 

I've set up a sample AirTable project to explain what I'm looking to https://airtable.com/appEMeJBL3Crynbxm/shrghnubXMunVieh1

• There's an "Orders" table with all of the orders we receive from customers, and the parts that we need to fulfill those orders. 
  • There's an "Inventory" table with those exact same parts listed as records/rows rather than fields/columns. I want to sum all the parts required for open orders and display them in the Inventory Table "Required For Orders" field. Then it's just a simple calculation to get a read out on whether or not I have enough parts in inventory to fulfill the order. 

My actual process has about 60 parts and hundreds of orders, but if I can figure out how to do the above it should be the same to set it up. 

Thanks,

Ted

1 Reply 1
tbradley22

I received this solution from an AirTable developer via email: 

Hmm, while what you want is possible, this is also not really how Airtable is intended to be used and so I would generally advise against it. 

That said, assuming that the total types of "Rings" and "Hard Parts" rarely changes, then this can be done by:
1. Linking every record in "Orders" to every record in "Inventory Synced"
2. For each inventory item, create a single rollup field in "Inventory Synced" that will have a formula of "SUM(values)" and a conditional to only include Orders where "Parts Binned" is X

Screenshot 2023-08-19 at 11.34.36 PM.png
3. Finally, create the `Required Parts for Non-Binned & Non-Assigned Projects` field as a formula field with the following format, where you would have to add in the inventory item name followed by the rollup field:
SWITCH(
Name,
"12 Bisque Swag", {12 Bisque Swag Rollup (from Orders)},
"12 Bisque C/N", {12 Bisque C/N Rollup (from Orders)}
)