Help

Re: Custom Scripting: extract text from a csv attachment (in an airtable form) and upload to table

1191 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
dmkirby
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hello, 

I'm trying to write a custom script (and I'm a JS novice) to extrtact/parse the data from a csv file that an external user would attach to a form submission. I need that data from the csv to then be uploaded into another airtable table within the same base. I tried setting this up with Make and Zapier and webhooks where the form is on Softr instead of Airtable directly but Make/Zapier couldn't read a file attachment on Softr only a urls like a Google Drive link. 

Here is my starter code: I'm currently getting an error on my forEach(function). Any help is madly appreciated!! 

//Set up variables
var sourceTableName = 'Form'; //name of table to extract data from
var targetTableName = 'Claim Assignments'; //name of table to upload data to
var csvAttachmentFieldName = 'attachments'; //name of attachment field containing CSV file

//Get source table

var sourceTable = base.getTable(sourceTableName);

//Get target table

var targetTable = base.getTable(targetTableName);

//Get records from source table
var sourceRecords = sourceTable.selectRecordsAsync();

//Loop through each record in source table
sourceRecords.forEach(function (record) {

//Get attached CSV file field from record
var csvFile = record.getCellValue(csvAttachmentFieldName);

//Extract text from CSV file
var text = extractCSVText(csvFile);

//Map text from csv onto columns in target table
var fields = {};
fields['Assigned Adjuster'] = text[0]; //map text from csv in first column to text field 1
fields['Policy Holders'] = text[1]; //map text from csv in second column to text field 2

//Create new record in target table
var newRecord = targetTable.createRecord(fields);

});

//Function to extract text from csv file
function extractCSVText(file) {