579 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
HannahS
5 - Automation Enthusiast

I'm in the process of building my base for my business (I'm a literary agent) - I've recently discovered how useful views are and now have a much better sense of what I'm doing but I have a query and I'm wondering if there's a better way to set this up or if I really just have to duplicate these fields (I'm asking because i've seen a couple of posts that say you shouldn't ever have to duplicate fields...)

So, my primary filed are the titles of each book under my agency. I then have views for the marketing info, the primary contract (in my case, UK) info etc.

The two elements I'm struggling with are:

1) Tracking international deals where there will be several countries which will each then need the same fields so that I can track for instance the contract info from the US, Germany, France etc - other than the language, the info I'll need to pull from each contract will have the same field headings. I could make this a separate table - but I'd really like the financial info to pull through to the book title so that I can track the income each book generates. 

2) Tracking royalties - every six months we'll get a statement showing sales for a six month period and any income generated - again, I would like this linked to the title so it makes sense to have it as a view from the main table, but then I'll need a set of repeating fields (Royalty statement date, period sales, period income, date paid - for instance). Is there a better way to do this? Is there a way to duplicate multiple fields at the same time or am I just going to have to keep doing them one by one? 

Thanks

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Dan_Montoya
Community Manager
Community Manager
5 Replies 5
Dan_Montoya
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Hannah,