cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Graham_Morley
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi,

Is it possible (or on a future roadmap) to list all the records in a Table without Pagination?

I.e. Not have the ‘pageSize’ maximum limit of 100?

The reason behind the question is that I’m looking to see if there’s a way to pull all the data from a Table into Splunk, using its ‘REST API Modular Input’ (https://splunkbase.splunk.com/app/1546/).

I can get this working up to a point, but I have no real idea on how to deal with (or if this feature of Splunk can deal with) the Pagination / offset.

I’ll hold my hand up and say that I have very little knowledge of Python (which is what the tool appear to be written in), so writing a custom script / implementation is definitely beyond my ability.

It just seems slightly strange that you can download the whole Table / View to CSV, but with the API you’d have to do a whole sequence of REST calls with the changing ‘offset’ property.

Has anyone run into this as an issue, or any suggestions on how I could tackle it?

I’ve also posted the same question on the Splunk Answers forum to see if there are suggestions from the other perspective (https://answers.splunk.com/answers/442579/rest-api-modular-input-how-to-implement-a-custom-r.html)

Many thanks,

Graham.

6 Replies 6
Tuur
10 - Mercury
10 - Mercury

Good point.

I’d like that too by the way.

Hi Graham,

Splunk references “dynamic setting of URL arguments/HTTP header propertys ie: a stream cursor” in https://splunkbase.splunk.com/app/1546/#/details . That seems exactly what you’d need to do.

API and CSV work quite differently and generally the API should be very fast while CSV export may take some time.

Alex

I’m not a Python developer, but looking at their code examples (specifically the Twitter handler) this seems like it might get close

https://raw.githubusercontent.com/damiendallimore/SplunkModularInputsPythonFramework/master/implemen...