cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
James_Henry
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi Guys,

Wondering if anyone can help me out with this one.

I want to create a script that incorporates an API to weather.com. The script will draw the information from the field and the field in Airtable and the result will be the weather forecast for that location on that day into a field called in Airtable.

Im pretty new to all this, so the most descriptive information would be really appreciated!

Thanks guys!

JH.

9 Replies 9
Garrett_Loughra

Hello James,

Not sure about weather.com but if you are familiar with openweathermap.org, I have a script that can get their data.

First, head here to to get an api key.

let table = base.getTable('weather_data');
// NAME YOUR TABLE YOU WANT THE DATA TO GO TO WITH WHAT IS IN THE SINGLE QUOTES
 let url = await fetch('https://api.openweathermap.org/data/2.5/weather?id=5392323&appid=YOURAPICODEHERE&units=imperial');
let json = await url.json();

//Name your columns 'weather.id', 'main.temp', the strings in the double quotes
    //Loop over the json object (key/value pairs)
         recordId = await table.createRecordAsync({
              "weather.id": json.weather[0].id,
              "weather.main": json.weather[0].main,
              "weather.description": json.weather[0].description,
              "weather.icon": json.weather[0].icon,
              "main.temp": json.main.temp,
              "main.feels_like": json.main.feels_like,
              "main.pressure": json.main.pressure,
              "main.humidity": json.main.humidity,
              "main.temp_min": json.main.temp_min,
              "main.temp_max": json.main.temp_max,
              "wind.speed": json.wind.speed,
              "wind.deg": json.wind.deg,
              "wind.gust": json.wind.gust,
              "visibility": json.visibility,
              "clouds.all":json.clouds.all,
              "dt": json.dt,
              "sys.sunset": json.sys.sunset,