1219 3
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Devon_Stanton
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast

I’m not a programmer, I’m trying to update a record based on the conditions selected. I’m battling to understand the ‘await’ function.

I believe it’s a promise and that it splits the code until the conditions are fulfilled? I kept getting an error if I put the await inside the if conditions.

I’ve re-written this a few hundred times and tried looking up what other people have done and now I’m throwing in the towel.

Below is the full script, any guidance would be hugely appreciated.

// Change this name to use a different table
let table = base.getTable("Game Tracker");

// Prompt the user to pick a record 
// If this script is run from a button field, this will use the button's record instead.
let record = await input.recordAsync('Select a record to use', table);
let seats = record.getCellValue("Employees");

let segmentSize;
await table.updateRecordAsync(record, {"Segment": segmentSize})

if(seats) {
    if(seats > 300) {
            segmentSize = "Enterprise";
        } else if (seats < 300 && seats > 149) {
            segmentSize = "Upper Mid Market";
        } else if (seats < 150 && seats > 49) {
            segmentSize = "Lower Mid Market";
        } else if (seats < 50 && seats > 9) {
            segmentSize = "SMB";
        } else {
            segmentSize = "Indies"
    }

}

output.text(`The segment for ${record.name} has ${seats} is ${record.getCellValue("Segment")}`)

the output is usually ‘Null’ for the segment.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
kuovonne
18 - Pluto
18 - Pluto

Welcome to the Airtable community!

I agree with chechedotmx that I would normally use a formula field instead of a script for this. However, you probably have your own reasons for wanting a script.

Thank you for letting us know your background. It is helpful when providing advice.