1312 3
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Adam_Balcomb
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi guys! I’m very new to Airtable and so far I’m loving it! However, I’m having an issue with formula’s. I have a feeling I’m on the right track, just not quite getting it. I have a table called Schools. This table contains all the data relating to each school such as school name, email, phone, pupil total etc.

I have created a field called Beds Total Schools with a formula stating County=“Bedfordshire”. This then populates that field with 1 if the record has Bedfordshire in it’s County field. I can then use this to create a Summary count in my Dashboard called Total Bedfordshire Schools. I can do this for any other county too.

The issue I’m having is as follows. I want to create a field that counts the record’s Pupil Total field IF the County field says “Bedfordshire”. I’m sure it’s something like COUNT {Pupil Total} IF {County}=“Bedfordshire”. I can then create a summary from the new field called something like {Total Beds Pupils}.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!
Thanks in advance.

Adam

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
JonathanBowen
13 - Mars
13 - Mars

Hi @Adam_Balcomb - you’re nearly there - create new field with the formula:

IF({In Bedfordshire?} = 1, {# of pupils}, 0)

Screenshot 2019-12-07 at 11.31.05

You can then roll this up on your dashboard as you have done with the schools count.

However, there is a better way to achieve this by breaking the counties out into their own table. The problem with the current method above is that you would have to create a column for schools and pupils in every other county, which is overkill if you have a lot of counties.

If you have a counties table like this:

Screenshot 2019-12-07 at 11.36.05

Then you can link to this in the schools table:

Screenshot 2019-12-07 at 11.37.04