2352 5
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
offps
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Airtable newbie here, if this question has a simple answer that I should be aware of please accept my apology and direct me to the right resource

I’m trying a simple operation that I feel should be possible. How do I count number of records in multiple linked tables based on input values?

I have a table called Projects. Projects can have a status based on a value from another linked table called Status (currently three different values are available in Status: planned, started, finished). Project are also assigned a region from another linked table called Region (currently: West, Central and East)

I want, in a fourth table called Results, count the number of projects with a certain “status” AND “region” combination. Is this possible? I’m foreseing that I have Region and Status as columns in Result and then countif in Projects based on the value in those two coulms.

Thanks a million

5 Replies 5

For this to work in a [Results] table, you would have to make sure every project is linked to a record in that table. Then you could use a Count field and use the “Only include linked records from the Projects table that meet certain conditions” option.

Alternatively, you could just add the Count field to the [Regions] table since it sounds like you’ve already linked regions to projects.

Thank you Kamille! I’m not quite following your suggestion, sorry :slightly_smiling_face:

I’ve created a dummy base with some data to better illustrate https://airtable.com/invite/l?inviteId=invfr6XKdhd4LizGS&inviteToken=3f4e3cb95287103b0f24257e2732d31...

I understand that I could link each project to a result and sum up the count but then I would have to update both the status of the project and the result of the project everytime there is a change. Does not seem like the best solution.