Help

Re: Linking between tables and pulling info based on multiple select linked fields

Solved
Jump to Solution
1602 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Alanjh1
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hi, I'm pretty new to Airtable and currently just exploring if it will be viable for our company to use.

The set up I have is two tables, one for learners and one for workshop sessions. 

The sessions table has names etc and a field linked to the learners table that shows the attendees booked on the session (multiple select allowed).

The learners table has a similar field linked to the sessions table showing the sessions that they are booked on to (again multiple selections allowed).

What I would like to be able to do is have a new field on the sessions table that for example shows the attendees that did not show up (nothing fancy I would just use a linked field to the learners table and just input the learners manually, again multiple select allowed). But then I want a corresponding field on the learners table showing the names of sessions they have not attended, is there a way to populate this with the session name (stored on the sessions table) based on the did not attend field on the sessions table? I felt like I was a good way towards this using a rollup and IF function but then could not pull the session name through as it was not a recognised field (because it is stored in another table), plus I don't know if it would pull multiple entries through in any case.

So is this possible with formula/rollup or is automations the way to go, if the automations route can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thanks

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Megan_Bandy
6 - Interface Innovator
6 - Interface Innovator

Hey,

This is a pretty simple Airtable use case and would be well suited to the platform. I've set it up many times for this exact case.