1430 3
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
nadodi
6 - Interface Innovator
6 - Interface Innovator

Hi, Airtable newbie here. We are trying to setup a table that calculates farm type based on size of farm. The result we are looking for is this:

Acres…Farm Type
Empty…Unknown
0.0…Landless
0.1-5.0…Small
5.1-20.0…Medium
20.1+…Large

Trying to use this formula:

IF(Acres = "", "Unknown", 
    IF(Acres >= 20.1, "Large", 
	    IF(Acres >= 5.1, "Medium", 
		    IF(Acres >= 0.1, "Small", 
			    IF(Acres >= 0.0, "Landless", 
				    "Unknown"
)))))

This is causing a conflict between Unknown and Landless. Any idea why and how to fix this? Please help. Thanks in advance.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions

This is a really neat trick. Thank you for pointing this out.

I found this problem intriguing and my mind kept coming back to it. I realize that this point was why my previous formula failed. (Even though I totally know that numbers with 0 evaluate to false, and I still got tripped up. I should have tested the formula before posting it, but sometimes I’m posting away from a computer.)

I’m glad that the original poster got a formula that works for him.

I’m posting this alternate version here so that if I revisit this thread, I can see where my thoughts led me. This formula uses the same trick of turning the number into a string, but uses concatenation instead of ARRAYJOIN.

IF({Acres} & "", "Landless", 
        "Unknown"
) ) ) )

See Solution in Thread

13 Replies 13
Melanie_E_Magda
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hello!

Give this a shot. I swapped the “” for BLANK() and my quick test seems to be producing your desired results!

IF(Acres = BLANK(), "Unknown", 
			    "Unknown"
)))))

Screenshot_20200607-022801 Screenshot_20200607-022814

Thank you @Melanie_E_Magdalena

Strangely, doing that is still causing problems at my end.

This Code:

IF(Acres = "", "Unknown", 
				    "Unknown"
)))))

Results in:

Farmer Type Issue