1645 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anxious
7 - App Architect
7 - App Architect

I have a multi-select field that has a large number of choices. I have decided it would be better to separate them into different categories (fields). Is there a way to do this?

I have a master list of choices in a separate table (if that helps). These choices have a name and a description and a category.

Is it possible to do something like this:

Category 1 Field

• Look at the main select fields and find all choices.
  • Look at the master choice list and find the choice name that matches the category.
  • Place the choice that matches the field category into the field.

I am on a free plan and have no access to paid tools.

Example base for explanation purposes:

Airtable Account: Free Plan
Records: 1,200/1,200 1000/1000 (I might have to find a different solution soon)
Automation Runs: ??/100
Extensions: 1/1 (TinyPNG Compression Script, looking for free alternatives)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions

I managed to achieve this on my own, but in a very round-about way. For all of those reading in the future, this is what I did. Please note, that I am a newbie and know nothing about scripting or formulas. I am also on a free plan.

1. I had the multiple select fields in my table (Main Table), filled with my selection (there are about 100 to choose from).
    The above image is only showing the options that have been selected.

2. I created a separate table (Options Table) with each choice option as the “Name”. I made sure that each option was spelled exactly the same, including punctuation and spacing. You can extract the choices manually with your fingers and eyes, or by using code (see below for code). I then added another column as the “category” as a multiple select field.

3. I created a linked record field in my Main Table that pointed to my Options Table. Make sure the allow multiple records is ON.