926 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Daniel_Burke
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi there, having a difficult time writing a formula, for an employee timesheet.

Currently, I am the using DATETIME_DIFF formula to calculate the total amount of hours worked within a 14-day period. I’m using two date/time fields for each day (ex: Day 1 - Start, Day 1 - End), so my formula is embarrassingly long:

DATETIME_DIFF({Day 1 - End}, {Day 1 - Start}, ‘hours’)+DATETIME_DIFF({Day 2 - End}, {DAY 2 - Start},‘hours’)+DATETIME_DIFF({Day 3 - End}, {Day 3 - Start},‘hours’)… and so on 11 more times.

My issue is, we have some employees that don’t work the full 14 days, so I need a formula that will calculate their total hours, and if some START/END fields are left blank, it will result as a “0” in the overall calculation.

I am a novice when it comes to formula writing, and have just started using Airtable this Summer. Any help or guidance is appreciated.

Thanks!

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Daniel_Burke

Actually, I may have figured it out.

IF(AND({OT Hours - DAY 1} > 10, {OT Hours - DAY 1} < 13), {OT Hours - DAY 1}-10, IF({OT Hours - DAY 1} > 12, “2.0”))

However, the “2.0” is because I can’t format the number to a decimal (1.00 preferred). How would I write that?

Thanks!

See Solution in Thread

6 Replies 6

Try the following pattern:

IF(
   AND({Day 1 - End}, {Day 1 - Start}),
   DATETIME_DIFF({Day 1 - End}, {Day 1 - Start}, 'hours'),
) +
IF(
   AND({Day 2 - End}, {Day 2 - Start}),
   DATETIME_DIFF({Day 2 - End}, {Day 2 - Start}, 'hours'),
) +

You can also consider using a second table where each row is a period worked. You’d have a link to the Employees table, two date fields, and a formula calculating the difference between the two dates. The Employee table would use a rollup field to sum up all the formula values in your new table.

Daniel_Burke