cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Jenna_Nystrom
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi!
I’m trying to see if there’s a way I can do this. I know Airtable is not a “spreadsheet” and that typically you cannot use different formulas per row/cell because of the database situation. I’m a complete newb to airtable, so I’m still learning the intricacies to see if it’s something I can use in my role.

I’m putting together a checklist for a large event that has due dates- start and end dates included in the table. In my google form/excel sheet I have formulas created so that all I have to do is put in the first day of the actual event into a column, and then another column has the # of months, days or weeks out that we need to start working on that particular task for the event. I had to go in each cell to change the formula for the specific task for those that were 1+ months out vs. those that needed to be start 2 weeks out, etc.

I’m using this formula in the column (the DATE and Project Start are the columns I’m having it pull data from): DATEADD(Date,-{Project Start (Months/Weeks/Days Out)},‘months’)

Date is pulling from the Date column that i have the first day of the event in. Project Start (Months/Weeks/Days Out) is the column that has the # of Months/Weeks/Days out we need to start working on the task. In the column - right now- I have a whole number if it’s for months (ie. 4) and for the weeks or days tasks I have it listed with # Weeks (IE 2 Weeks, 2 Days).

Is there a formula that I can use in the formula column that will put a correct date in the formula field based on whether the task is a months, weeks or days task?

Here’s an example of the table:
Screen Shot 2020-12-17 at 11.27.26 AM

I’m looking to create a template as I will have 4 similar events each year, so it’d be helpful to be able to put the event date and those tasks will automatically fill in their start date.
Thanks so much!

1 Solution