487 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
natetable
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hi everyone, first of all I'm really sorry for the noob question, I'm an English teacher who is not good at math and I cannot figure this out after days of trying.

I have an excel document where tasks are given scores based on prioritization questions.

Most of the questions follow a simple "If answer = YES add a numerical value of 3 to the overall score" format.

But I have a few segments that use COUNTIF logic.

In one of the sections where there are 5 prioritization questions the COUNTIF logic looks like this

(COUNTIF(I7:M7,"Yes")>3,12,IF(COUNTIF(I7:M7,"Yes")>2,9,IF(COUNTIF(I7:M7,"Yes")>1,6,3))

Screenshot 2024-02-06 at 15.25.37.png

So the yellow section of questions follows:

If 1 question in the yellow segment is answered "yes"  - add 3 points to the overall score

If 2 questions in the yellow segmentare answered "yes" - add 6 points to the overall score

If 3 questions in the yellow segment are answered "yes" - add 9 points to the overall score

If 4 or 5 questions in the yellow segment are answered "yes" - add 12 points to the overall score

And this would add a numerical value of 12 to the overall score

Screenshot 2024-02-06 at 15.25.54.png

Is there anyway to recreate this COUNTIF functionality in Airtable?

I'd really appreciate any help that comes my way 😄

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Dan_Montoya
Community Manager
Community Manager

for questions 4 and 5 you have a formula that says

IF(OR({question 4} = "yes", {question 5}="yes"), 12, 0)

for the 2nd yellow section a quick way to do that would be to do a similar process for questions 1-3

use 3 columns with : 

IF({Question 12}="Yes", 1, 0)

IF({Question 13}="Yes", 1, 0)

IF({Question 14}="Yes", 1, 0)

And then a 4th that  add those together 

and a new field with the if statement

IF({question 12} + {question 13} + {question 14}>2, 12,