cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Thomas_Giegeric
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hey there,

i am new to Airtable and have only understood half of the features yet. As I had to learn, that it is not possible to hide views from specific users, I found the sync feature.

I do have a database with a lot of personal information about people living I a camp. I was trying to find a way to give some of my users (in this case security guys) the ability to put in the date of the last Covid Test of a person. As this does not work in one base (because I can not hide views) I have done a sync to another base of al relevant information.

Is there a way I can let a limited amount of users change information in one or two rows, without letting them see all the rows and letting them change all the rows? Right now I can only see the information in my synced base, but not alter them.

Thx for any hint.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Vivid-Squid
11 - Venus
11 - Venus

Hi @Thomas_Giegerich
A simple way to do this would be to give the Security People a form link instead of the entire base (saves you on user counts too)

1. Set up your People table, with all the details that you need to keep.

2. Create a new table called Testing Data. In this table we add a column that is Link to Another Record and choose People table. No other look ups.
    Then add a Date field. (Name column is a formula with People as the formula.

3. In the Testing Data table add a Form view and only put the People and Testing Date in the form. Since the People field in this table is a Link to Another Record, we will be able to get a list of all people.

Here is how the Form will look to the Security Person