1197 1
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Steve_Patterson
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hi, I am new to Airtable and am working on a property management project.

I’m trying to use Airtable to calculate property rental metrics (e.g. nights stayed, average rate per room, total revenue) by property. Each property (e.g. property 1, property 2, etc) is listed on multiple listing platforms (e.g. Airbnb, VRBO, Expedia, etc). The listing platforms allow me to export stay data, where each record is a stay (e.g. check in date, check out date, nights, total revenue, property, guest, reservation # etc). However, each platform has a different format, so I’ve created a separate table for each platform.

I created a summary table where each row is a property and each column is a metric from one platform (e.g. Airbnb stays [count of rows in Airbnb table that weren’t cancelled], Airbnb total nights [sum of nights field in Airbnb table], Airbnb Revenue [sum of revenue in Airbnb table], same for other platforms). Then I can use a formula to sum the stays, nights, revenue, etc from across all platforms. I tried doing this by creating a property field in the summary table and linking it to the platform tables. I then created a new “roll up” field to aggregate the data by property, but it’s only pulling one instance from each property (e.g. stays all equal 1). Lastly, I had to rearrange the fields in the Platforms table so property was the primary field. Is there a way to link to a non-primary field in another table?

Any tips would be greatly appreciated!

1 Reply 1

When linking to records, you’re not actually linking to specific fields. Airtable just shows you the value of the primary field in the linked record, but the link itself is to the record, not the field. With the link in place, you can pull values from any field you want using lookup and rollup fields.

However, I see a bit of an overcomplication with your base: