536 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Nathaniel_Duebe
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

I work as a freelance production manager which means working a lot of different jobs with different crew members and vendors.

I have a “master” crew and vendor database, which is everyone I know.

When a gig comes around I want to be able to make a separate crew list (table) that will pull records from the master database and autofill their info across various columns.

For example if I write “John Smith” in the “Name” section of my job table I want it to search the master database and automatically fill their job, department, email, cell, dietary restrictions, etc. that correspond to their record.

Is there any way to achieve this?

3 Replies 3

Yes; take a look at the section on linked records. In your base, you’ll have a [People] table containing all the person-linked data you mention in your last paragraph.

You’ll also have a [Jobs] table where each record contains job-related fields plus one or more linked records fields that link from [Jobs] to [People]. Rather than entering ‘John Smith’ in your job record, you’ll select the linked record field, while will drill through to the [People] table, and click on ‘John Smith’'s record.

To access details concerning ‘John Smith,’ you can either follow the link as needed; surface the person-specific data in [Jobs] by using rollup or lookup fields, or a combination of the two methods.

To make things easier to manage for jobs with a large number of crew members, you may want to use a junction table. Instead of linking directly from [Jobs] to [People] you would link from [Jobs] to a record in the, say, [Gigs] table. Each [Gigs] record would in turn link to a [People] record. You would also define the lookup and rollup fields surfacing [People] data in [Gigs].