Help

Re: Can this be done? and how many tables should I use?

934 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Blair_Jensen
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hello, I am an insurance broker and I’m trying to create a client management database that will track my clients and the products I have sold them and also track my commissions as they are paid to me by the various insurance companies.

So there are basically client info, insurance products they purchased, and commissions paid to me that I’m trying to track.

So each client can have multiple products over the course of several years, and each product pays commissions at various times. Some products pay commissions annually, and some pay monthly.

I want to be able to pull up a clients info and be able to see, over the course of 10+ years or so what products they have purchased and each commission payment paid to me at specified dates.

Can this be done in airtable and how many tables should I create and how should I link them?

thanks in advance for any help!

6 Replies 6

The clients and products part is pretty straightforward:

You’ll need a table for each and a field in the Clients table that can link to multiple products.

However, tracking financial, rates, and relative dates can become very tricky. The required setup could depend on questions like:

Do your commission rates on a product ever change? If so, you’ll need to ensure historical data isn’t mutated when you update the rate.

Do your commission periods ever change? If so, ditto.

Are your commissions received at dates relative to individual clients, or relative to a product * number of clients on that product?

If a rate changes, does it change across all clients on the product?

I’m sure there are other variables I’m not even able to think of.